October 22, 2014

  • Slight Adjustment

    My car title finally arrived.  I've been looking forward to getting a different car for a while.  I love the one I have, but it doesn't get the greatest gas mileage, and my commute is long.  But, after getting an estimate on my car and looking over my options, I've decided NOT to get something different and stick with what I have.  Yes, I could trade in mine for something with better gas mileage, but it would have to be a car close to as old as mine if I wanted to just trade up.  If I wanted to get something newer (and with even better gas mileage), I'd have to either make payments, which I don't really have the cash flow to do or sell stocks, which seems to defeat the purpose of being economical and not spending money.  My car needs a few things: new wipers, new tires, and maybe new brakes.  Selling it would have meant not dealing with those things, but I'll spend way less money maintaining it than I was going to trading it in for what I felt like were the best options.

    ...

    I have a home inspector and a contractor coming to look at a house on Friday.  It seems like this thing is getting more real.  We still don't have an official offer on it yet, but that should change over the weekend.

    ...

    I spoke with a guy last week about being a mentor, but his schedule was in the mornings or at lunch.  I wasn't really sold on the guy just from our conversations, but the schedule conflict sealed the deal.  I've asked my contact at the church for any other suggestions, but tomorrow will make it a week since I've even heard from him.  Now, I'm a little conflicted because if I try another resource at the church, I don't want to seem like I'm going behind his back.  If I use a resource at another church, part of me will just feel a little fragmented.

    ...

    I've moved on from the car situation.  I'm moving forward on the house situation on Friday (and over the weekend).  I'm going to talk to a couple of connections tomorrow as far as the mentor situation goes.  Until I do those things, I really shouldn't move forward on getting back into the dating game.  Part of me wants to get my car appraised in Austin, and I still might just to have that number established.  It would also give me an opportunity to act, even if it was subtle, and I'm just not sure I want to do that.  I know the timing isn't right, and I would definitely need to feel like it was.

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *