September 23, 2014

  • Making Progress...

    I usually don't post as much when things are going well, but I should, so I will :-)

    ...

    I'm making progress as far as "making room" goes.  My time management this past week wasn't perfect, but it was better.  Tomorrow will be a challenge, but it's one that I know about and can plan around ahead of time.

    I'm making progress as far as making room for God goes.  I was at World Mandate this past weekend, and it was great.  The three biggest thing I took away from it were:

    1) Simply abide in God.  I've been way too caught up in car, house, class, and extra stuff when i should be abiding in Christ and letting the details sort themselves out.

    2) I want to be able to hear God better.  There was a story about an Indian pastor calling out a person in a crowd on 350,00 people.  I have to be a better listener.

    3) Stick with it.  Keep moving on.  Press forward.  Don't stop.

    ...

    In other news, I find that I am still thinking of Rae from time to time.  I knew there was a possibility that I would run into at World Mandate.  I prayed about it, that God would prepare my heart should that happen.  She and Whitley were heading out of Dichotomy when the group I was with exited the stairwell from the roof.  I hugged them both, and we chatted a little bit.  I could tell they were leaving though, and it was getting close to time for the other session to start.  I said something like "I'm sure I'll see y'all there."  I wanted to.  I looked for them, but no luck.  I found myself asking God to let us run into each other again...at the Ferrel Center...in the parking lot...wherever.  That did not happen, probably for the best.  I tried messaging them both on Facebook, but it would only let me send to Whitley.

    All that to say, I still miss her a bit.  I miss our friendship.  I regret the way I mishandled our relationship.  I want another chance.  The speaker on Saturday was divorced and had married a woman that had rejected his marriage proposal twice.  They looked like they couldn't be happier, and they were doing amazing ministry together.  I want to pick her brain again about us, but everything I go down that path in my head, I hear God say "I am working."  I don't take that to mean He's working on Rae specifically, but that He's working in my situation.  He knows my needs; He knows my desires.  My resolution has been simply to focus on Him and know that all these other things will fall into place.

    ...

    I am meeting with Jared tomorrow for lunch.  I hear that The Well is going through some changes, so I'm interested to hear how all that is going.  I'm also meeting with the Young Adult pastor at Antioch tomorrow afternoon.  He texted me the other day out of the blue, so I'm not sure what it's about, but I'm definitely excited about that.  It may just be to see how I'm enjoyed Lifegroup.  It may be to follow up on the application I put in to volunteer with the YA ministry.  It may be something totally different.  We will see.

    Time with God has been sweet since the conference.  I hope and pray that continues.  I don't have much to complain about it life, and I just want to keep seeking Him and moving forward.

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *