August 21, 2014

  • God's Timing...

    One week and I'll be in class again.  It'll be so strange.  I still have some things to do before then, but I'll be happy to have more to occupy my time.

    ...

    Last time I talked about envy, and I've thought more on that lately.  I think part of that envy doesn't necessarily come from a person's background or that something good they were blessed with.  I think,  for me, part of it has to do with the fact that they got it now.  They received a blessing, were granted a gift, got an great opportunity now, and I didn't.  It's almost as silly as a child being sad because it's their siblings birthday, getting new toys and such.  It's really a lot like that.

    Months ago, I noticed a house for sale near Cameron Park in pretty much a perfect location.  By the time I got around to calling, it was already under contract.  The two lots beside it were vacant, and I thought to myself, "Man, it'd be awesome if those were for sale."  A few weeks ago, I found out who owned those lots, and I decided I'd send them a letter just asking if they'd be interested in selling.  It couldn't hurt.  The guy on the title lived in Maryland, which I thought was a little random, but I sent it anyway.  I sent it Priority, used a tracking number, checked it every 12 hours or so, and it finally made it there.  After a weekend of waiting though, I figured either the guy didn't live there anymore or maybe he just wasn't interested.

    Over the last few months, I've looked at so much real estate.  I'd make a great agent right now because I could tell you just about anything you wanted to know.  I've been in talks with my dad, with my uncle, and with our realtor about what we want and what would be a good investment.  For sale by owner, vacant lots, foreclosures, new construction...  You name it; I've looked at it, researched it.  I've been especially frustrated  these past couple of weeks because we've been talking with an elderly man who lives in Dallas about his house here in Waco, but it's taken him almost a month to get down to show it to us.  Every week for three or four weeks, it was "I'll try to get there this week," or "I'll be there tomorrow."  Days would pass, "tomorrow" would pass, and the guy was a no show.

    We talk to him again Monday.  He says he'll be there with his grandson Tuesday at 11:00.  "Ok, give us a call before you leave Dallas, so we can meet you there."  9:00 rolls around, no call.  10:00...  11:00...  Noon...  My mom was the one that had been communicating with this guy, and a couple of scenarios were running through my head.  I was beginning to think maybe he had Alzheimer's or was just senile. Maybe we were just wasting our time.  The other thought was that he was actually at the house, that he didn't have a cell phone, and he didn't have a way of telling us he was at the house.  So mom calls around 12:30 to check in and to give him a little ultimatum about how we were going to move on if he couldn't show us the house.  "Ring, ring..."  No answer.  Mom and I are both frustrated.  She goes outside, and I go into the living room.  Then I hear her phone ring.  It's the guy calling back, and to make a long story short, turns out he was in Waco with his grandson waiting at the house for us to come.  We drove to Waco went by the house, met the guy and his grandson, looked around, took pictures, and left.  I was happy to have finally gone inside.  It definitely had potential, but it wasn't in the condition that I thought it was.  I left relived that we had pictures and a floor plan, but my optimism that this was the house for us was waning.

    On the way home, I check my email, and I see a message titled "Property in Waco" from a guy named "Doc Jay."  It was the guy I'd sent a letter to those weeks ago!  Not only did he get my letter, but he said he was interested in selling the lots and gave me his phone number!  Ahh!  Crazy excited, we got home, and I started crafting what I would say and how I wanted the conversation to go.  I double checked all the info about the lots and what I thought was a fair price for them.  I waited until 6:15 to call, knowing he was an hour ahead.  Again, to make a long story shorter, this guy grew up not just in the Waco area, but in Crawford!  He knew people I knew.  In fact, he had been in town a couple of months ago and talked to my dad!  Not only did he want to sell the lots, but before I could even ask him what he wanted for them, he said he wanted [x amount] and that he wasn't planning on making any money off the deal.  That amount was lower than what they're appraised for, and it's lower even than what I was going to offer.  He said he'd be in Texas the first week of October, and that if I had all the paperwork drawn up, he'd gladly sign whatever needed to be signed.

    ...  Simply amazing.

    After all this time I'd been researching, and all this frustration had built up...  To be handed exactly what I'd wanted from the very beginning for less than I ever thought I'd get it...  It's simply a God thing.

    Lesson (re)learned:

    God's timing is perfect.  There are certain blessings that though we want with all our heart, we are not ready for.  Getting those blessings ahead of time would be disastrous.  Our frame isn't strong enough.  Our foundation isn't broad enough.  My relationship with Rae was a perfect example of that.  I got want I wanted, and I couldn't handle it.  It was absolutely the right thing, but it was just the wrong time.  I know that now.  I knew it a couple of weeks after we broke up.  I know now that it's not the right time for me to be in a relationship.  I think going on dates would be fine or just having out people that I'm interested in, but my frame isn't strong enough right now.  I'm not disciplined enough right now.  My foundation isn't broad enough right now to handle the blessing that God wants for me.

    It sucks to wait.  It's hard to see others get that blessing now, but God is good and His timing is perfect.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *