September 7, 2014

  • Stepping Into

    This weekend was pretty packed.  I worked Friday night.  I hung out with people at BSR, floated the lazy river, went to the Baylor game, went to a gay bar, and took a friend home on Saturday.  I went to a Young Adult volunteer training, did a little school shopping, and worked out on Sunday.

    ...

    The volunteer meeting really got my wheels turning.  I've been struggling less with my actions and more with my thoughts lately.  The words and actions start in your heart and mind, and I've realized that there are deep thoughts and motivations are still not totally God's.  It's not the goal to be strong enough to withstand temptation.  The goal is to avoid them altogether.  One simple example is my diet.  Physically, working out is important, but your diet is almost even more so.  I've been slacking, not sharp, too lenient with some of the things I've eaten, and my overall fitness has suffered.

    In sharing the church's vision during the volunteer meeting, the speaker talked about integrity, daily time with God, and purity.  Good stuff.  It made me think about what it'll be like to serve the church again, even in a volunteer role.  The bottom line is that I have to step into the person God wants me to be.  He wants me to be a confident, strong, solid minister of His Gospel, and there are thoughts and mindsets and excuses that I have to put behind me if I'm going to go forward in His church.  I felt like He's leading me into a place where things can explode for me, but that growth and movement of His Spirit will be jeopardized if I let selfish, lazy, undisciplined thoughts in.  I can see now more than ever that Satan wants in my life in a big way, and he's not happy with the direction I'm moving.

    ...

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *